Hello, World

Hey there, it's Ben! I'm in the process of creating my personal website, and I wanted to share with you the tech stack I'm using. I want the website to be simple but efficient, so I chose a tech stack that's straightforward and very easy to use.

Next

First up, let's talk about Next. Since I'm already familiar with React, it was an easy choice to go with Next as my framework. With its file system routing and new experimental app router, building websites has never been easier.

Sass

When it comes to styling, I used to be all about Tailwind, but for this mini project, I wanted to try something different. That's why I'm giving Sass a go. I just tweaked my neovim config with this plugin, and now I can work with Sass with:

...just like with Tailwind and its own LSP server.

Contentlayer

Regarding content management, I opted to try out Contentlayer and markdown instead of relying on an external CMS. Contentlayer is an SDK that enables me to produce content in markdown, which I can effortlessly convert into a type-safe format that I can integrate into the website. I find this workflow particularly appealing as I am accustomed to composing content in markdown. Overall, I'm pleased with the results of this small experiment so far.

Wrapping up

And that's about it! I'm really excited to keep working on it and create something awesome. Thanks for reading and see you in the next post.